← All states

Waterfowl 2026-27

Minnesota

Mississippi Flyway

Open now · Ducks, Mergansers & Coots, Canada Goose
Season
Open now
Ducks, Mergansers & Coots, Canada Goose
Nonresident cost
$135.50
Daily duck bag
6
7 species limits apply
Next draw deadline
None
No open applications

Nonresident rules

Nonresidents need a small game license, the Minnesota waterfowl stamp and HIP certification.

Season calendar

SepOctNovDecJan
Early Teal
Early Canada Goose
Youth Waterfowl Weekend
Ducks, Mergansers & Coots Central Zone
Canada Goose Central Zone
Ducks, Mergansers & Coots North Zone
Canada Goose North Zone
Ducks, Mergansers & Coots South Zone
Canada Goose South Zone
Today

Seasons & bag limits

Early Teal

Early teal
  • Sep 5 – Sep 9, 2026
Hours
Sunrise to sunset.
Notes
Bag limit not stated in the source; check the regulations.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Early Teal

Early Canada Goose

Early goose
  • Sep 5 – Sep 20, 2026
Notes
Bag limit not stated in the source; check the regulations.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Early Canada Goose

Youth Waterfowl Weekend

Youth
  • Sep 12 – Sep 13, 2026
Who
Hunters 17 and younger, accompanied by a nonhunting adult 18 or older.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Youth Waterfowl Weekend

Ducks, Mergansers & Coots

RegularCentral Zone
  • Sep 26 – Oct 4, 2026
  • Oct 10 – Nov 29, 2026
Ducks6 daily18 poss.
  • 4 mallards
  • 2 hen mallards
  • 3 wood ducks
  • 2 redheads
  • 2 canvasbacks
  • 2 black ducks
  • 3 pintails

Scaup: 1 per day early in the season, then 2 (the switch date differs by zone). Species limits are from a secondary source; verify against the MN regulations.

Hours
One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Ducks, Mergansers & Coots

Canada Goose

RegularCentral Zone
  • Sep 26 – Oct 4, 2026
  • Oct 10 – Dec 30, 2026
Notes
Bag limit not stated in the source; check the regulations.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Canada Goose

Ducks, Mergansers & Coots

RegularNorth Zone
  • Sep 26 – Nov 24, 2026
Ducks6 daily18 poss.
  • 4 mallards
  • 2 hen mallards
  • 3 wood ducks
  • 2 redheads
  • 2 canvasbacks
  • 2 black ducks
  • 3 pintails

Scaup: 1 per day early in the season, then 2 (the switch date differs by zone). Species limits are from a secondary source; verify against the MN regulations.

Hours
One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Ducks, Mergansers & Coots

Canada Goose

RegularNorth Zone
  • Sep 26 – Dec 25, 2026
Notes
Bag limit not stated in the source; check the regulations.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Canada Goose

Ducks, Mergansers & Coots

RegularSouth Zone
  • Sep 26 – Oct 4, 2026
  • Oct 17 – Dec 6, 2026
Ducks6 daily18 poss.
  • 4 mallards
  • 2 hen mallards
  • 3 wood ducks
  • 2 redheads
  • 2 canvasbacks
  • 2 black ducks
  • 3 pintails

Scaup: 1 per day early in the season, then 2 (the switch date differs by zone). Species limits are from a secondary source; verify against the MN regulations.

Hours
One-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Ducks, Mergansers & Coots

Canada Goose

RegularSouth Zone
  • Sep 26 – Oct 4, 2026
  • Oct 17, 2026 – Jan 6, 2027
Notes
Bag limit not stated in the source; check the regulations.

Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Canada Goose

Today's shooting hours in Minnesota →

What you need to buy

HIP Certification
Source · checked Sep 23, 2026 ·

Report a correction

HIP Certification

Free
Minnesota Migratory Waterfowl Stamp
Ages 16+ · Code 226; same price for residents and nonresidents.
Source · checked Sep 30, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Minnesota Migratory Waterfowl Stamp

$7.50
Hunting license: choose one
Nonresident Small Game License: Code 221; includes the $1 agent fee.
Source · checked Sep 30, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Nonresident Small Game License

$103.00
Ages 16+ · $25 face value. Bought online or from a license vendor, the electronic stamp adds a $4 fulfillment fee and usually a $1-$1.50 state fee, so expect to pay $29-$30. Paper stamps at the post office are $25.
Source · checked Sep 30, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp)

$25.00
Total for the season
Annual or season licenses
$135.50
Public land & walk-in access

Programs and the rules that apply to them. We don't publish specific spots.

Walk-in program

Walk-In Access (WIA)

Open to nonresidents

Private land open to walk-in hunting Sept. 1 - May 31, about 22,000 acres at 220+ sites in west, central and southern Minnesota. Hunters of all ages need the $3 Walk-In Access validation; hours are one-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.

Maps and details · checked Sep 30, 2026 ·

Report a correction

Walk-In Access (WIA)

More Mississippi Flyway states

Official sources

Spotted something out of date?

Report a correction

Minnesota waterfowl page

. How we check this data.

Founding members

Never miss a draw deadline again

Deadline reminders, DIY trip plans and founding-member pricing are on the way. Join the list and you'll hear first.

I hunt

No spam; unsubscribe anytime. Privacy